Crayon Cupcakes!

IMG_3789

Recycled Crafts: One thing to do with all of those leftover bits of crayons!


We were looking for a way to recycle and reuse a jar of broken crayon pieces, and really wanted to melt them with an iron between sheets of wax paper to make “stained glass” crafts, but alas, I realized we were low on gas for the generator to power the cabin to run the iron, and at the same time realized that I don’t own an iron anyways! Aside from they joy I took in knowing that I never need to actually use an iron, we forwent that activity and looked around for something else to do with the crayons.

We decided to melt them down to make our own crayons!

Method

We removed all of the wrappers from the crayon bits. I put a muffin tin on the table and Captain put a paper cupcake liner in each hole. We used the small-sized liners and they worked great; next time we will try the full sized ones as well. Now for the fun part! Captain filled each of the cups with different combinations of the crayons, breaking them into even smaller pieces as needed. Fill the cups about 2/3 full. Place in a 250 degree oven for about 10 minutes and then check them often until they are “done”. The pieces should be soft but not completely melted. I didn’t know to keep the oven on low and our crayons completely melted but turned out really cute anyways. I looked online and found Dina Brook’s method on Education.com and also saw that another mom wrote in to say that she puts the crayons into silicone baking molds to make shapes like seahorses and hearts- fun!

After they cooled, Captain enjoyed peeling the wrappers from them and we put them on a dish to admire. The “cupcakes” are fun to color with and she was excited to save one for her Grandma and Auntie as they make a sweet recycled gift!

Good times, I love the age of 5!

Cheers, Karen

Categories: Art Rocks For Kids!, Homeschooling Projects | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Crayon Cupcakes!

  1. Whittney

    I love reading your blog Karen! This post in particular made me smile since the past two days we have been using recycled crayons to make an ironed wax paper bookmark for Evie! I use to make these in girl scouts when I was younger:)

    • Hi Whittney!
      Great minds think alike :). I look forward to all of us getting together again, it’s been too long. You are one of the craftiest, most creative people I know. You certainly could blog about your activities and experiences if you ever had the time! Take good care and I’ll be sending some activities (human body etc) from NY. Hugs to you all!
      Karen

I'd love to hear from you!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

