Book Recommendation: D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Myths

IMG_6678

Who could tell a better story of how the delightfully vain peacock got the gorgeous eyes upon his feathers than the ancient Greeks?  I want to take a moment to highly recommend this book. In fact, I sing the praises of this book, first published in 1962, all the way to Mount Olympus itself! D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Myths is truly one of the wonders of Captain’s childhood. If you haven’t looked at it before, and you, or your children, are at all interested in the fabulous stories of the gods and goddess in the classic greek myths, then I recommend this book with all of my heart!  It is a large book filled with 192 pages of stories and scrumptious artwork.  It is truly a go-to book on the subject!

Captain became interested in Greek mythology last month when she heard a reference made about Medusa, and her hair of living snakes. She insisted that she find out about the story of Medusa and my husband read her a story that he found online.  She was hooked.  She had a talk with us at dinner and insisted that she needed to know more of the stories of Greek mythology.  This book was recommended to me, and when I read the reviews, I ordered a copy of the book.  We made it special by signing it to her, with love from Mom and Dad, and she can’t get enough of it.  The recommended age is 8 and up, and Captain is 5 1/2, but she has a personality, and interest, that makes it appropriate for her.  Yes, there are gods who marry their sisters, and Cronus swallows his children etc.  but none of it has been anything except fascinating for her.  We went to a family party a couple of weeks ago and she was happy to tell greek myths to her family.  The artwork is so beautiful too, and I cannot believe how much I am learning!  This book will certainly be read time and again in our household.  We absolutely LOVE it.  D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Myths by Ingri and Edgar Parin D’Aulaire’s sells for about $15.50 on Amazon and can be obtained from many other sources as well, including used online. This is not a book we could borrow from a library as we would have to keep checking it out!

If anyone out there knows of a source for buying a set of Greek mythology characters in the form of small action figures, please let me know!

Cheers and magic,

Karen

IMG_6679

IMG_6680

Categories: Homeschooling Projects, Language Arts Rock For Kids! | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Book Recommendation: D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Myths

  1. kwinds

    I LOVE this book too!

  2. rhombizoid

    I love this book, too. I have a friend who wouldn’t let her son read it because she felt it was too mature for him at age 10. She didn’t like some of the material. However, I think it is a beautiful book and well worth the price!

    • Yes I saw, in some online reviews, that a couple of people had the same opinion as your friend, but this was about two in thousands. I think your friend’s issue might be with the subject matter…. it’s Greek Mythology! There are going to be some things outside of some people’s comfort zones. I wonder if she would let her son read it at ANY age if she is uncomfortable with it? It is, as always, about personal family choices. I just love how much we are all learning, and the way Captain’s eyes light up, when we read this book.
      Thanks for writing! Karen

  3. I think my kid would love this! Thanks for the recommendation!

  4. Will definitely get hold of it and give it a whirl. Don’t know about purchasing action figures, but if anyone can make some… surely it’s you and Captain 😉

    • Hi Judy! Hope you and Arthur and the gang are doing great. I hope you get ahold of the book, it is a gem. And, as for making those action figures, I hadn’t thought of making them… I’ll run it by Captain as she is fearless! Take good care!

  5. Seems like the perfect opportunity to challenge Captain to use her translation skills. Has she been interested in making art based on the myths or creating her own mythological world?

  6. Seems like the perfect opportunity to challenge Captain to use her translation skills. Has she shown any interest in creating artwork based on the myths or creating her own mythological world?

    • A good question! We have been so busy that I hadn’t thought of this. I think that if I simply asked her, she would run right over and start making a book (she is into making her own books these days). Also she comes up with fantastic characters and stories anyways, that the style of Greek myths would be right up her alley 🙂 Thanks for pointing this out to me. I will run these ideas by her and see what she says. I would LOVE to see what she would come up with creating her own mythological world! I thank you kindly for your comment, and will let you know what happens! Cheers, Karen

      • Sure thing. It’s always great to see where kids take their imaginations when they have a place to start. 😀

  7. Miriam

    This is one of our favorites too. You might also be interested in a retelling of The Odyssey, by Gillian Cross. We had it out of the library a few months ago and we all enjoyed it.
    http://www.amazon.com/books/dp/0763647918

    • Miriam

      Sorry for the huge image! I was just trying to post the link 🙂 and I don’t think I can delete or change my comment…

    • Ooh, thanks Miriam, we will definitely check this out! The cover artwork is cool too. This is such a great part of being connected to other people in the world through blogging… hearing new ideas… love it. Thanks!

  8. we have been reading this too – a beautiful book. love the idea of the family visiting all the ancient sites and illustrating this together. the d’aulaires have even more books!

    • I love what they did together too! I haven’t told Captain that there are more books yet as I know she’ll get too excited and want them right away! I think we are going to get the book of Norse mythology next.. can’t wait!

  9. My 7-yr-old daughter has been obsessed with Greek Mythology for the last 7 months or so, and this book is what started her off! She has made a set of Greek God paper dolls, has dressed all of her stuffed animals and dolls (and herself) up as characters from the various myths, and recently transformed our entire kitchen/play area into Odysseus’s ship (we recently moved on to reading Black Ships Before Troy, and The Wanderings of Odysseus, kids’ versions of the Iliad and the Odyssey that you might enjoy, though they are a little more gory, and have no pictures, so might not be appropriate for or interesting to a 5-yr-old, but the stories are great). She also loves grilling anyone, child or grownup, on the various Greek Gods and their relationships to each other, plus now their Roman names too! It all started with D’Aulaire’s. I think they wrote a book of Norse Mythology that I plan to find for her too. Thanks for posting this! Enjoy!

    • Fantastic! Captain requested that I find Greek Gods & Goddesses in the style of action-figures, but couldn’t find them. I suggested she make her own (the paper dolls are a great idea that I will propose to her pronto) and she wants to get started as soon as she finishes her “Scooby Doo” comic book that she is working on. I will look up your suggestions because my daughter has the same reaction as yours and she is not offended by more “intense” story lines. I have gotten some flack from other for letting her read “mature” stories, but I go with what she likes and asks for. She had a long fascination with the “Beast Quest” series awhile back 🙂 Thanks you so much for writing in and letting me in on what y’all are up to. You are right, it does begin with D’Aulaire’s…. can’t wait to get the Norse book too! Great thoughts to you!

I'd love to hear from you!

Blog at WordPress.com.

