DIY: Mom & Me Journal!

IMG_5057

In the photo, Captain and I are BOTH inside my shirt..

Here is our version of the “Mom & Me” journal!  Basically, it is a composition notebook with a label on the front for you and your child to write notes, letters, share pictures, etc. I made this one morning, wrote a note inside inviting Captain to share notes with me, anytime we feel like it, and left it on her bed. She was thrilled and sat in bed for a long time with a pencil, drawing pictures and writing notes. We have had it for about 6 months already and both love it. Sometimes we forget about it and a lot of time passes before one of us adds something to it, and that is just perfect. There is no pressure to do anything but tell each other little things…  She has written notes to ask me to make her favorite dinner, which I love! There are so many “I love you’s” and pictures of our dogs. It is also surprising how some honest, hard to talk about, things can come up. There is something safe for kids to be able to write down some feelings and ideas that they have a hard time saying in person. They KNOW their mom (or Dad) will see it, but don’t have to talk about it, just yet.

I think this notebook idea could be adapted to boys simply by changing the colors and making it suit their personality more. It would be really easy to make a “Dad & Me” notebook as well! Because it is a solid book, clearly marked, it doesn’t get lost in all of the other paper and notes that seem to fly around our cabin!  I am especially looking forward to reading it again one day when Captain is all grown up. What a wonderful keepsake! I got the idea from Mama Jenn on her blog, and she got the idea from another, who got the idea from another…

I do hope you try this.  It is fun and pretty special.

Here’s to good memories (and notes that state that a certain someone would rather NOT clean up her room, complete with little, drawn, grumpy faces… love it!)

Cheers, Karen

Categories: Family fun, Homeschooling Projects, Positive Parenting | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “DIY: Mom & Me Journal!

  1. I do this with my kids too and they love it! I’m glad to know a lot of time passes between notes for you too sometimes, because that’s the approach h I’ve taken as well. You’ve motivated me to write soon though. Thanks!

    • Yes, we pretty much forget about it for periods of time, and then that hot pink cover will leap out at one of us and it will start back up again 🙂 Glad to hear you are doing one too 🙂

  2. Great idea! I may do this when my kids are old enough 🙂

  3. This is a great idea. I definitely want to try it with my 8 year old. I have him every other week, so I could write him notes about things I want to remember to tell him (or just to tell him I was thinking about him). He has some fine motor difficulties, so it would be good for him to keep up with writing/drawing over the summer, too. And, yes, it could be a great keepsake to look back on. Thanks so much for sharing the idea!!

    • What a great idea to remember to tell your son about things you want to say. He might like the freedom to write what he wants and not even realize that it is good practice too 🙂 Good thoughts to you and yours! Karen

      • Thanks. I definitely won’t point out the “practice” part to him (just like I don’t tell him there are flaxseeds in his chocolate chip pancakes). 🙂

  4. I remember having something like this way back when I was a child, but it was a large scrapbook with massive pages in it; we could paint and color and add to it anyway we wanted. My mother usually put half a drawing in there or started a picture and we’d have to finish it or color it in. Would love to use this for my tyke one day! 😉

    • I love the idea of the large scrapbook with massive pages! How fun to collect all those drawings and finish the ones that mom left. I think that is a much nicer idea, actually. We do “imagination pages” where each of us draws a basic figure or shapes in black marker, then we trade them and turn them this way and that to finish the picture with our own imaginations. Fun! Thanks for writing and perhaps you will stick with your mom’s idea-it is wonderful!

  5. This is a terrific idea! Love it! We always leave each other notes and drawings, etc., but half of them get lost, end up with all the rest of the clutter in piles. This is genius, and we can’t wait to get started on ours (especially love the hot pink cover)! Thanks for the idea!

  6. Very Cute! Thanks for linking and sharing! I love how you added the photo! Very nice touch!!

  7. this made me tear up a little bit thinking of how you’ll treasure this so as time gets old!

I'd love to hear from you!

Blog at WordPress.com.

